Planner Girls Collective: Planner overview

Planner Girls Collective: Planner overview

Welcome to the new year and new round of posts from the Planner Girl Collective (formerly known as Confessions of a Plannerholic).  This is the first post of a regular series, and I aim to post every Monday as part of the group.  I will also link below all the other bloggers taking part in this series.
Right, back to the topic in hand; my planner overview… 2016 started with such good intentions, and I had lots of time to plan and be organised.  Then my life got a little chaotic towards the end of the year which led to my planning going pear shaped to say the least!  In actual fact it completely stopped!!!  I know I did a blog last week where I discussed a bit about this, and showed you my new layouts for the new year, so I wont bore you with all the details all over again.

I guess one of the reasons why last year was a bit of a struggle for me was really choosing my planner size and style of insert.  I did have an A5 planner which I loved, but felt it was too big for a while, so moved into a personal sized filofax.  And I have to say I do still love that planner.  But it got to a point where I just had so much to put in every day that I couldn’t fit everything on.  I also started a new job around the same time as this dilemma and felt that for work purposes having an A5 again would be much more convenient!  lol!

So I took the plunge and indulged in a second hand Carpe Diem and have not looked back since!  The size is perfect for me!  I don’t really carry my planner about with me in my day to day activities, but it is with me for work and is always out when I am at home.  This works really well for me, though I have to say I am considering getting myself a pocket size diary to keep in my handbag at all times just to make quick notes of personal appointments etc that I can then transfer into my A5 when planning neatly!  But this is something that is still to come…

When I made the move from my personal size to my A5 I decided to keep the same layout that I had previously had; a 2 day per page spread.  I felt this gave me just enough space and I could separate everything I needed to do.  But I soon found that I just had too much space, and with going back to work having to plan every four days was just getting too much for me.  I wanted to get back to regular planning as well.  I missed sitting down on a Sunday evening and just getting all my bits out and planning!  So now with the new year here I thought it was time for a change, and went back to a nice weekly spread.  It is this spread that I would be sharing on my instagram, as well as my monthly spreads.

However being as forgetful as I am I felt it would also benefit me to try out a daily spread which I have used to track things such as my fluid intake and my diet.  I am trying to be healthy though being pregnant am finding I am eating like a pig at times!  lol!  I am also trying to manage my time a lot better so I can be organised and stay on top of my life rather than let my life get on top of me.

Fingers crossed moving forward my planning will be much more functional and successful!  Please follow me on instagram if you would like to see regular pictures of my planning.  And I will blog more about the process I use with planning and how successful my system is going.  If you would like to see pictures of my most recent set up, please look back at my earlier post this month.

Leave a Reply

