Confessions of a plannerholic… A-Z of Planning

Confessions of a plannerholic… A-Z of Planning

received_10153809800500848.jpeg

Confession: Planning is definitely something that has not come naturally to me, and I imagine most people feel the same.  So this is my list of things that have helped me get my planner to where it is now and as organised.  I hope you find this helpful…..

A – Always be true to yourself and your planner needs.  DO NOT be dragged into “making it look pretty” if that isn’t your thing.  If your planner doesn’t match your personality and needs then you will struggle to use it.

B – Be as creative as you want!  Not everyone can afford to spend hundreds (and I mean hundreds) of pounds on stickers on etsy!  Find other ways to make your planner work for you.  DO NOT buy stickers just because everyone else does

C – Consider what you want your planner for…. People use planners for a variety of reasons.  The three main ones I use is my daily personal size (which you have seen pictures of), a personal websters pages to keep track of my etsy shop and blog, and an A5 for all of my pen pal information and letters.  One of the things I have already found is that my websters pages is not being used much, and actually this planner probably isn’t needed.  But now I want another A5 specifically for the house and household things!  lol!

D – Do your research!  This may sound silly but planners and planner supplies do not come cheap!  Follow C and then do your research.  Make sure you get what is right for you.  IF you want stickers but can’t afford the expensive ones then look for cheaper alternatives.  There are many companies out there wo do lovely stickers at very reasonable prices.  Planners also come at varying expenses so don’t think you have to get the most expensive one on the market, try and find one that really suits you and your needs

E – Etsy is your friend as well as your bank balances enemy!  Let me tell you now, once you start it is very hard to stop!

F – Filofaxes are NOT the only planners out there!  If you’re new to the planner world then do not be sucked into always buying this brand.  Don’t get me wrong they are amazing, but there are many others out there so have a good shop round.  Some of the other ring bound planners you can get are Kikki K, Dokibook, Carpe Diem to name a few

G – Get crafty and personalize!  There are so many different accessories that you are likely to want once you get into planning, but remember a lot of it you can always make yourself.  Have a go, you may be pleasantly surprised at how much you can save

H – Have fun!  As much as a planner is there to help you stay organised, if you don’t like it you’re less likely to look at it and therefore it would completely defeat the object of planning!

I – Inserts must be fit for purpose!  One of the main things I have found with planning, is if your inserts are right, then you’re half way toward planner peace

J – Journaling is very therapeutic.  People use their planners from so many different things apart from actual daily planning.  The biggest being journaling; such as art or gratitude journaling.  If you have more than one planner (which trust me will happen), don’t let them sit empty on a shelf, try out other ideas

K – Keep going!  We all go through planner ruts!  This could be longing over a particular planner, or just not feeling the insert you’re using.  Talk to others (UKPA is awesome for that) and shake things up a bit if you can.  You never know what results you may get doing this.

L – Learn from others.  When it comes to planning I am always on pintrest and instagram looking at all the pictures of how others layout their planners so I can get ideas of what may work better for me

M – Mon they subscription planner boxes! These are definitely a brilliant essential to a planner girls life. Not all require regular monthly subscriptions, so it wives you flexibility which is massively important. There are quite a lot out there, but the ones I would recommend are Miss Brimbles and Ugly Bug.

N – No spend time is highly likely!  With all the pretty things that are out there to buy planner related, most of us take at least a month or so of each year out of buying planner stuff.  It normally means having a small pot at the end of the month which you will probably end up blowing on planner stuff anyway, but it’s always a nice achievement if you succeed!

O – Oliclips are a great way to bunch papers together. I’ll be honest I’ve never used them, but I currently have my eye on a few so this may change soon… 😉

P – Planners are your friend.  Being organised and keeping track of my daily life definitely helps with my baby brain!  I would definitely forget to do things if it wasn’t for my planner!

Q – Quiet time to plan is essential! Give yourself some “you time” to do this. You deserve IT! I always wait until the kids are in bed and Gavin is catching up on his TV to have some me time to chill and plan.

R – Rings are best!  Sorry girls, I could never leave the rings!  There are many other types of planner systems (Erin Condren, Happy Planner, Bullet journaling) but the flexibility that comes with rings will always be my preference.  It’s so nice to be able to feel like a change in cover and just be able to pop it all out and straight into another planner!  Or if you want to put a new section in, or take a section out then you can.

S – Stickers are awesome and highly addictive!!!!  My diary would look very plain and boring without them!  Being not very artistic, being able to buy functional stickers that allow me to plan in a pretty way.  My favourite shops at the moment are The Poppy Paperie and Happy Cutie Studio.

T – Try different planning methods to find one that suits you.  The whole point of having a planner is to have something that you find helps you map out your daily activities.  People end up coming up with many different ways of planning such as bullet journaling in a ring bound planner.  You need to find your own style.

U – Understand you! Your planner should be an extension of you and your personality. You need to find a system that works for you. I know I have probably said this already but it really is the most essential part of planning. Planning shouldn’t be a chore but something fun and helpful.

V – Voucher codes! I don’t think I would be able to fund my sticker addiction without these! Join facebook groups and check instagram for all the codes for planner shops on etsy, they really can save you a fortune!

W – Washi tape is brilliant!  You can use it for so many different things, but one of my favourite ways of using it is to reinforce my planning pages so that they look pretty as well as less likely to end up falling out.

X – Sorry got no clue on this one! If you can think of anything pleas comment below 🙂

Y – You Tube is a brilliant source for so many things that come into planning.  There are so many tutorials on how to make things planner related, plan with me videos and many more.  Use this to your advantage!!!!

Z – zzz…. so we have come to the end, and yet again I have nothing for Z! Lol! If you have stuck with me till the end thank you! I really hope you found this useful!?

Don’t forget to check out the other blogs in this series too, listed below:

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a plannerholic… A-Z of Planning

  1. Hi! I’ve just discovered your blog and I think I would come back over and over because I’m quite planner addicted! This post is really useful and it reminds me that I have to start soon a non-spending month (and this make me really really sad!! 😦 )

    Like

Leave a Reply

